Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack. Charging carries tight restrictions on how you can move.
INITIATING A CHARGE
If you don’t have line of sight to the opponent you want to charge at the start of your turn, you can’t charge that foe. To charge, you must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and can move up to double your speed. You must be able to reach the closest space from which you can attack the designated opponent. This movement must occur before your attack. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, is difficult terrain, or contains a creature (not a helpless one), you can’t charge. You can’t charge if the ending space is occupied or blocked. Since you move to charge, you can’t take a 5-foot step during the same turn. You provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for your movement.
If you’re unable to take a full round’s worth of actions on your turn, such as during a surprise round, you can charge as a standard action. In this case, you can move up to your speed rather than up to double your speed. All other rules for charging still apply.
Balancing during a Charge
You can make a Balance check to charge across a precarious surface, but you take a –5 penalty on the check for each multiple of your speed (or fraction thereof) that you charge. Charging in this way requires one Balance check for each multiple of your speed (or fraction thereof) that you charge. Any check that fails carries the normal ramifications for failing a Balance check, likely ending your movement and preventing your charge.
Flying during a Charge
A creature that flies can make dive attacks. A dive attack works just like a charge, but the diving creature must move a minimum of 30 feet and descend at least 10 feet. It can make only claw or talon attacks, but these deal double damage.
Jumping during a Charge
You can make a long jump to avoid an obstacle as part of a charge, as long as you continue to meet all other criteria for making a charge before, during, and after the jump.
Tumbling during a Charge
You can tumble during a charge, as long as you continue to meet all other criteria for making a charge before, during, and after tumbling.
RESOLVING A CHARGE
After moving, you can make a single melee attack. Only special abilities that specifically allow multiple attacks as part of a charge can give you more than one attack. Since you use the momentum of the charge in your favor, you receive a +2 bonus on any attack roll made during your turn when you charge. If your attack is a bull rush, you get a +2 bonus on the opposed
Strength check. Because a charge is reckless, you take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.
Weapons and Charges
Certain weapons deal double damage when readied (set) and used against a charging creature. Other weapons deal double damage when used during a charge.